Body Blows by Marc Strange has been nominated for another award south of the border. The Shamus Awards, which are presented by the Private Eye Writers of America, recognize the best in private eye writing, with an investigator (not a police or government agent) as the main character. Body Blows has been nominated in the Best Paperback Original PI Novel category. The winners will be announced this coming October. Body Blows recently won the 2010 Edgar Allen Poe Award for Best Paperback Original from the Mystery Writers of America this past April.
Dundurn author Dr. Lucille H. Campey has been awarded a grant from the Foundation for Canadian Studies in the UK. The foundation was established in 1974 and, amongst other things, supports UK and Canadian academics, resident in the UK, with their research costs. Lucille’s grant will go towards the preparation of the second book in the series The English in Canada which is being published by Dundurn Press.
The Naval Service of Canada, 1910-2010 has received an honourable mention for the 2010 Keith Matthews Award, presented by the Canadian Nautical Research Society. The Keith Matthews Award is for the best book published in the previous year on a Canadian nautical or maritime subject. The Naval Service of Canada, 1910-2010 is a lavishly illustrated title that is well-deserving of this honour. It chronicles the full century of the Canadian Navy and presents a compelling view of the Canadian Navy's past, present and future.
Dundurn Press will release Mind Gap by Marina Cohen. Jake MacRae might only be 14, but he’s gambling, drinking and hanging around with gang members. When he’s asked to make a “special delivery,” he knows his decision will seal his fate. Before he can make up his mind, a mysterious text message leads Jake to a midnight flash party on an abandoned subway car… bound for his worst nightmare. Cohen is also the author of Ghost Ride (Dundurn, 2009). Mind Gap is the first title on Dundurn’s brand new series, Keystone, exclusively dedicated to hi-low fiction.
Dundurn author Alan D. Butcher has won the 2010 Donald Grant Creighton Award from the Ontario Historical Society for his book, Unlikely Paradise: The Life of Francis Gage. In 1967, The Ontario Historical Society established an Awards program to honour significant contributions to the preservation and promotion of Ontario’s heritage. Thirteen different awards acknowledge the work of outstanding individuals and organizations, and raise public awareness of Ontario’s history and the people who work to preserve and interpret it.